Jewish Book Awards Accepting Submissions

By: Ilan Mester

The 22nd annual Helen and Stan Vine Canadian Jewish Book Awards is accepting submissions for the 2011 awards, taking place on May 30, 2011. The Canadian Jewish Book Awards celebrates the best in Canadian writing related to Jewish subjects and themes.

Submissions must be written by Canadian citizens or residents and focus on Jewish-related subjects and/ or themes. Books must have been published between Jan. 1, 2010 and Dec. 31, 2010, to be considered for the book awards. Applicants should submit four copies of books along with an entry form by Jan. 31, 2011.

A number of writers from around the country won awards last year, including Allan Levine (Coming of Age: A History of the Jewish People of Manitoba), David Sax (Save the Deli), Jeffrey Veidlinger (Jewish Public Culture in the Late Russian Empire), Goldie Sigal (Stingy Buzi and King Solomon), Michael R. Marrus (Some Measure of Justice: The Holocaust Era Restitution Campaign of the 1990s) and Robin McGrath (The Winterhouse).

Award categories include: fiction, history, Holocaust literature, youth literature, biography and memoir, Jewish though and culture, scholarship on a Jewish subject, Yiddish, and the special achievement award.

The Jewish Book Awards presentation will take place at the Toronto Reference Library’s Bram & Bluma Appel Salon on May 30, 2011.

For more information on how to submit books, visit

From Shalom Life.

The original article may be found here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: