Voices Magazine Reviews Women at the Crossroads A Woman’s Perspective on the Weekly Torah Portion

Women at the Crossroads: A Woman's Perspective on the Weekly Torah Portion

Women at the Crossroads: A Woman's Perspective on the Weekly Torah Portion

by Sharon Katz

Twelve years ago, Rebbetzin Chana Bracha Siegelbaum gave birth three times. Firstly, B”H, she bore a son after 14 years of secondary infertility. Next, she founded a creative women’s learning institution
in the hills of Gush Etzion, and thirdly she began writing a series of weekly Torah thoughts with particular emphasis on women’s issues.
Now, as the Midreshet B’erot Bat Ayin: Holistic Torah Study for Women celebrates its Bat Mitzvah year, Rebbetzin Chana Bracha Siegelbaum has published a compilation of a dozen years of those Torah writings, Women at the Crossroads: A Woman’s Perspective on the Weekly Torah Portion.

At the B’erot Bat Mitzvah celebration, Rebbetzin Chana Bracha explained that she founded B’erot Bat Ayin to give women the opportunity to return to the Torah while encouraging them to express their creativity and spirituality. She said, “Women’s Torah and
creative expression go hand in hand. Besides the regular textual
classes, we want to learn as we walk, paint, plant, sing and dance. We, as women, want the Torah to penetrate our entire being, not just ourheads. Our learning methods are not limited to one approach. We encourage each student to express Torah in her own personal way, always remaining connected to the foundation of Torah and the Sages of Israel. We aspire to nourish and encourage our students to plant their roots in the fertile soil of Torah and to blossom, and multiply expressing their hidden talents in the world. Our practical goal is to prepare them to meet their soul-mates as they proceed along their
life’s path as women of valor.”

This book shares with its readers the spirit of B’erot Bat Ayin. Combining classic commentaries, Midrash, Talmud, Rashi, Rambam, kabbalistic and Chassidic masters as well as modern commentators,
Rebbetzin Chana Bracha introduces us to the women of the Torah, giving us many rare insights into their lives, missions, personalities and the influences they have had on our nation, on each of us. Spotlighted
are Chava, the archetype of all women, walking side-by-side with her husband; Sarah, the prototype of all Jewish women, the synthesis
of a good wife and an independent woman who was a great prophetess; Rivkah, a rose among the thorns who learned early on to make her own decisions and act with self-confidence; Rachel and
Leah who represented the worlds of beauty and inner beauty; Dinah, whose innocence led to tragedy; Tamar who possessed the “heart of a
lion”; Osenat, the soul mate of the righteous Yosef; as well as Miriam, Yocheved, Tzipora, Shlomit bat Dibri, the wives of On Ben Pelet and Korach, the daughters of Tzelafchad, the women of the Midbar (desert)
and even Mother Earth.

Rebbetzin Chana Bracha discusses women’s issues, women’s mitzvot and their special attributes that shape a Jewish home and the Jewish
nation. She gives women added pride in their personal and public roles in the world. Every woman deserves this book. It made me proud to be
a Jewish woman.

from Voices Magazine

18 Responses to Voices Magazine Reviews Women at the Crossroads A Woman’s Perspective on the Weekly Torah Portion

  1. homepage says:

    Wonderful article! We are linking to this particularly great
    content on our website. Keep up the great writing.

  2. GOTU KOLA says:

    I am truly grateful to the owner of this web page who has shared this great post at here.

  3. I’m not that much of a internet reader tto bee honest but
    your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookark
    your site to come back later. Many thanks

  4. Hi! I’ve been following your blog for some time now and finally gott thee
    corage too go ahead aand give you a shout out from Kingwood
    Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up thhe good
    job!

  5. Debbie says:

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I’ve shared your sitye in mmy social networks!

  6. Appreciating the persistence you put into your site and in depth information you provide.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same unwanted rehashed information. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your
    site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  7. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I
    am waiting for your next write ups thank you
    once again.

  8. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more
    of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  9. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo
    News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Appreciate it

  10. Faith says:

    Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading through your
    posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums
    that go over the same topics? Thanks a lot!

  11. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your blog
    on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great site!

  12. Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.

    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  13. mavic rims says:

    Howdy! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really eenjoy reading
    through your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that
    deal with the same topics? Thank youu so much!

  14. Right here is the perfect blog for anyone who wants to understand this topic.
    You understand a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would want
    to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject which has been discussed for
    ages. Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

  15. Hello, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet
    Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!

    Other then that, very good blog!

  16. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on thee eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to
    come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create
    your theme? Excellent work!

  17. This page definitely has all the information I wanted about this subject
    and didn’t know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

